Author Topic: I'm getting the Reflex-Deflex bows down. MY latest.  (Read 7649 times)

Offline Prarie Bowyer

I'm getting the Reflex-Deflex bows down. MY latest.
« on: October 13, 2011, 05:27:01 am »
I shall name her "Mine". . . as in NOT for trade, sale or any other nonesense.  Though I've got my jigs and process worked out and some more in the pipes.  Also I'm trying to settle on a bow fishing reel design.  This is the first.  I think it shifted down a tad during lacing but all else looks fine.

Bamboo backed hickory with walnut, maple and yellow pear handle.  Arrow rest and tip overlays are African Black Wood.  The spool is willow that I have been moving around for a few years now.  It's super light weight but more dense than pine (not a lot).  I figured i try a shoot through spool first.  55#@ 28" or so.  I forgot to weigh it after final sanding.  It's not shot in yet so I'll shoot a few fish first and see what it settles into.  In preliminary tests the spool worked well.  I'm using catfish trotline in a 100+# range which I waxed as my arrow line and sisal to attach it.  Will probably get real arrow line and para cord later.

going to make meat tomorrow (after making a box and shipping out the traded bows).  I need fertilizer and smoking fish.

« Last Edit: October 15, 2011, 03:26:33 am by Prarie Bowyer »

Offline Prarie Bowyer

Re: I'm getting the Reflex-Deflex bows down. MY latest.
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2011, 05:35:15 am »
need to improve my photo station.  I didn't think the wall would be visible behind the fabric.   :-\

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2011, 06:00:37 am »
Lookin good.
I wondered what the Radar dish on the front was at first :-[.
Good fishing.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline CherokeeKC

• PM108323
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2011, 11:51:13 am »