Author Topic: Absolute novice looking for help  (Read 2858 times)

Offline chefctonkin

Absolute novice looking for help
« on: September 21, 2011, 12:31:27 am »
I'm looking to learn as much as I can about bow making, my hopeful end result is to make one for myself. I know almost nothing about the topic. I have used a bow a few times and am a really good aim but haven't shot in a while and I guess that’s what piqued my interest in making one of my own. Would really appreciate any and all help. Thanks

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Absolute novice looking for help
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2011, 12:47:50 am »
Welcome to PA. I think I would first suggest you read as much on this site as you can. There are quite a few years worth of wood bow building information from some of the best wood bowyers in the world. If you have any questions, ask away. The only dumb questions are the ones you don't ask.
  George Tsoukalas has a great website with all aspects of building your own wood bow and other stuff you might need.  There is a link to George's site at the top of "Bows" or the "How To" thread, I can't remember which.
  So, read a little, ask a lot and before you know it you will be shooting a bow you made yourself.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2011, 12:53:53 am »
where are you located?  Many of us are willing to share our tools and experiences.
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline Freebirth

• My Blog
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2011, 01:20:14 am »
I'm pretty much a beginner, working on my first bow as well, so we're kind of in the same boat.

First question I think you have to ask yourself, what kind of wood and tools do you have access to? You can build bows from board lumber or split logs with a few tools.
Southern Ohio

Offline MWirwicki

• The wood speaks to you; Listen with your eyes. GSD