Author Topic: rookie hornbow question  (Read 5511 times)

Offline 4nolz

rookie hornbow question
« on: September 05, 2011, 09:22:35 pm »
I've made some selfbows (probably <50) and 1 other sinew backed horn bow that was flatbow style.THIS is my first try at a true horn bow-I pegged and wrapped a handle on and have a ?stupid? question.Do I  HAVE to sinew back it? it is 41" end to end and when flexed feels pretty heavy already.

Offline gstoneberg

Re: rookie hornbow question
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2011, 10:03:27 pm »
Do you have a wood core, or just horn?  If wood, I don't believe your bow back will survive full draw at that short a length without sinew.  Not sure what it'll do if just horn?

George
St Paul, TX

Offline Hrothgar

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2011, 11:00:59 pm »
If you check out "youtube Korean horn bow" there is a 3 part build-along that seems very informational. Don't know if it is in english since my speakers went out a couple of months back. Hope this helps.
Eric
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

Offline 4nolz

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2011, 11:16:01 pm »
it is just horn,no wood.

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2011, 11:21:39 pm »
 Most all horn bows I've seen were sinew backed. You need James Parker to weigh in on this. Is that bow pulled in to reflex Belly up?
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline 4nolz

« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2011, 11:31:08 pm »
I checked out the youtube its a wood core build.

the picture is highly reflexed,back up.(the back of the horn is the belly of the bow)

Offline MWirwicki

• The wood speaks to you; Listen with your eyes. GSD
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2011, 12:22:18 am »