Author Topic: Primitive finish (beeswax)  (Read 6499 times)

Offline Holten101

Primitive finish (beeswax)
« on: August 27, 2011, 11:16:11 am »
I want to go fully primitive on my latest bow project, so I have aquired some plates of beeswax.

Now I have no experience with this stuff, so i have rubbed it in with a piece of leather. It looks good... nice and shiny, but I doubt its more than a superficial coating. Do I need to apply heat to the bow to get the pores filled? Or do I have to mix the wax with something to get that effect?

I would appreciate any tips and tricks?:-)

Cheers

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Primitive finish (beeswax)
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2011, 01:36:46 pm »
Never used it, but have read about it plenty. I am under the impression that you gently heat the bow until the wax melts into the bow, do this 2-3 times over. Then at least once a year after that. Again I have no experince except reading about it. I know you want all primitive, but I think a layer of paste wax is a good idea as well.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2011, 02:37:35 pm »
Hand rubbed bear or deer fat or even bacon grease will give you a pretty good "primitive" finish. I have a yew bow with hand rubbed bear fat that still repells water after 2 years of shooting.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline aznboi3644

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2011, 06:36:43 pm »
I like a simple paraffin wax finish.  I haven't gotten beeswax yet.  But I heat the bow up and color the wax on like a crayon.  The heat makes the wood soak up the wax good and get in the pores.   Then just rub that wax into the wood nice and good.

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2011, 06:45:58 pm »