Author Topic: Big Storm Trees Down Need Help IDing them ok got it what yall think  (Read 5248 times)

Offline Bow Nut

Here are two.  The first I know is a oak I think red oak what do yall think?  the second I am not sure of If it is somthing good I want it though and it might not be there long so any quick help would be great. the leaves start first after that is other pics of the same tree.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2011, 05:22:13 pm by Bow Nut »

Offline BowJunkie

Re: Big Storm Trees Down Need Help IDing them
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2011, 02:20:15 pm »
The first one is red oak,
The second one,,, based on the leaf I would say chestnut oak.
Not a 100 % sure on the second one
Johnny
Johnny
in Texas

Offline criveraville

• Psalm 127:4
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2011, 02:22:45 pm »
the 4th pic looks like slippery elm to me, based on the leaf, but i am no expert.. Looks like you are gonna get some bows out of that
I was HECHO EN MEXICO, but assembled in Texas and I'm Texican as the day is long...  Psalm 127:4 As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.

Offline Bow Nut

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2011, 02:32:47 pm »
is slippery elm as good as other elms?
Basically the second one is just a large brach that broke off that tree about 20 foot long and 10 inch in diameter straight to.  I will get it.

Offline criveraville

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2011, 02:33:48 pm »
oh yea.. the other name is Red Elme.. goood wood
I was HECHO EN MEXICO, but assembled in Texas and I'm Texican as the day is long...  Psalm 127:4 As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2011, 02:34:50 pm »
Any elm is good bow wood. Beech leaves look alot liek that as well, but the bark si smoother.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Mangeur de lard

• Wildlife biologist and arborist