Author Topic: hickory backed osage  (Read 15962 times)

huntersim

hickory backed osage
« on: June 17, 2007, 07:33:23 pm »
Hi everyone. Dave Rue sent me a slat of osage some time back and it was just long enough to sneak a 58" bow out of. It was one of the darkest pieces of osage I've ever seen, also had some fascinating grain to it. I sent Dave a few photos of it and he asked if I was going to post it. I really didn't have any plans to but when he asked if I was, I figured why not.

So the stats for the bow are, 58" long. 62-63 lbs at 28" (just under 60 at my 27" draw). Just a bit over 1 1/4 wide at the widest. The finish is paraffin, something I've never used before.

One thing about the bow is it took a lot more set than I expected. The tips sit about 1 1/4" behind the handle, and close to 1 3/4" behind the handle just off the string. Early on I mentioned this to Dave and he thought it may be from the osage, I had suspected the backing, still not sure why it took so much. I've build a few more off the same platform and 2 of them, within 4 lbs of this one, have limb tips about 3/4-1" in front of the handle, a few others Ive tried let go. I'm still trying to find a limb tip of the last one that let go.

A couple of more things; even though the bow took as much set/follow as it did, it shoots pretty well (in the, I can hit what I want department). Perhaps because the tips do sit back as far as they do, I'm not sure. I have a bow I built last year that has almost the exact profile as this one, but was made that way intentionally. Something I thought was interesting was the bow from last year loads up totally different from this one with a lot of forced set in it. Tiller between the two differs a bit but not a lot.

Anyway, here's a few photos. And thanks Dave, for the neat looking osage.

[attachment deleted by admin]

DBernier

Re: hickory backed osage
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2007, 07:53:46 pm »