Author Topic: Newbie in East Texas  (Read 4281 times)

Offline Stretch

• I'm a custom furniture maker/wannabe bowyer.
Newbie in East Texas
« on: May 20, 2011, 12:50:13 am »
Hey All,

I just figured I'd check in and introduce myself.  My name's Mark, but I'm just as comfortable going by Stretch.  I've been a custom furniture builder and wood carver by trade for the past five years, but I've always been interested in building my own bows.  I've got a fully equipped wood shop so tools aren't a problem, but I've been poking around the forum here and have come realize I know basically nothing about building a bow.  So I plan on poking around more to gain knowledge and asking a question here and there as things start to make sense to me.  In the mean time, if anyone has any good sites, build threads or books you suggest I look let me know.  It seems like a really friendly place around here and I look forward to participating. 

Mark
Mark
Lindale, TX

Offline SEMO_HUNTER

• Southeast Mo. Redneck!!
Re: Newbie in East Texas
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2011, 01:19:09 am »
Welcome Mark, I'm new here myself. These guys will get you started building your own bows, be careful though because it's addictive!  ::)
I started a year ago with the intention of just building myself a longbow. Now a couple tons of Osage and now Hackberry later I'm still building them, I just can't stop myself.  :-\

Hi I'm Chris and I'm a bow woodaholic.  ;)
~Varitas Vos Liberabit~ John 8:32

Online Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2011, 02:55:12 am »
Welcome Stretch. If you like wood and great folks, you will like PA. 8)    Now, it is time to climb out of the wood box you've become accustome to and build some bows.  8) 8) 8)
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline skyarrow

• Sterling Lynch Victoria, TX (361)935-1715 text me
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2011, 12:28:44 pm »