Author Topic: newbie's question: whitetail hunting arrows?  (Read 1755 times)

Offline questidore

• I serve the King of kings
newbie's question: whitetail hunting arrows?
« on: March 07, 2011, 02:20:57 am »
I'm new to this game so I'm asking questions that probably have been covered:  are bamboo arrows too light for hunting whitetails or feral pigs?  I have access to a large stand of bamboo and I have read enough to understand that cane's drawback as arrow material is its lightness.  Can that be sufficiently compensated for by foreshaft and can glass or stone be used successfully for arrowheads?

Thanks
O God, thy sea is so great-- and my boat is so small.

Offline hillbilly61

• Fly straight and true
Re: newbie's question: whitetail hunting arrows?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 08:55:20 am »
Part 1.  No
Part 2. Yes
Part 3. Yes
I will say of the Lord,"He is my refuge and my fortress;
  My God, in Him I will trust."  Psalm 91:2

Offline jturkey

• I wouldn't make it a habit calling me that!
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 11:27:22 am »
cane only drawback in my opinon is that not everyone keeps fields stocked with it. it is considered the natural carbon for arrow making. you can always weight the tips if need to match your arrows foreshafts or not. hot glue or pine pitch sinew or silk feathers or vanes. the possibilities are endless. make sure of local game laws because here stone and glass points are not legal. wish they were i have started flaking some glass for replicas lol and would love to see if they could take otu a deer. i know they are sharp as all heck. so make some have fun.
doc

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2011, 11:39:10 am »