Author Topic: How much bend can you heat into a Vine Maple bow  (Read 5385 times)

Offline wildkatt

How much bend can you heat into a Vine Maple bow
« on: March 04, 2011, 09:06:53 pm »
Just finished a long but skinny Vine maple bow and im wondering since i have no experience with heat bending maple. How hot and how much will straiten with time.

Katt
I didnt claw my way to the top of the food chain to eat vegies

Offline rossfactor

• Humboldt County CA
Re: How much bend can you heat into a Vine Maple bow
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2011, 10:03:05 pm »
I would like to listen in here.  I'm having a heck of a time achieving string alignment in my latest VM bow.  Heat treated a limb for 1/2 and hour that was clamped into the desired position, and when I un-clamped it several hours later, it sprung right back to its original shape.  This stave is very stubborn.  ::)

Gabe
Humboldt County CA.

Offline snag

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 10:16:33 pm »
I've heard VM is springy....? Maybe it has a mind of it's own and won't straighten.. ???
Is. 49:2 ....He made me a polished arrow and concealed me in His quiver.

Offline sharpend60

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2011, 11:46:34 pm »
Ive been having a hell of a time with one Ive been working.

Been trying to get limbs tips aligned with the handle.
The string was completely off of center, in fact it was about 1" left of the handle altogether
I finally got one the limbs straight enough and it cracked on the belly side.
I'm gonna keep building though and see how it does.

So to answer your question, I have no idea.
Ive abused this stave something fierce. Steamed it 1 hour and bent the snot outta it with a big c-clamp, 5 or more times now.

Ive had others that barely kept any or no reflex.
Ive been using steam by the way. I know it can be bent, seems to me you should take it far past where you want it and clamp it tight for some time.

« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 11:50:35 pm by sharpend60 »

Offline wildkatt