Author Topic: salvaged bamboo take down ....looking for advice?  (Read 5323 times)

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
salvaged bamboo take down ....looking for advice?
« on: February 13, 2011, 06:44:19 pm »
I just saw a bow here on the PA that was cleverly made from the salvaged limbs of broken bows. I just made a boo/back/belly that hinged right out of the fades, so I thought why not try the same? so I cut off the limbs at the hinge, the rest of the limbs looked good. My question is what is the best wat to connect them to the handle, I've never tried this before. I guess 2 bolts ,but wont the bolt heads cut into the boo and/or weaken the limbs putting  holes through them?  Maybe someone has tried this  or knows of any usefull links. Thanks in advance for any help is gratefully appreciated
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline Bevan R.

Re: salvaged bamboo take down ....looking for advice?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 06:54:51 pm »
I would suggest talking to Bingham products. They have limb bolts for takedowns and have been most helpfull to me when I have had questions.
Bowmakers are a little bent, but knappers are just plain flaky.

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2011, 07:04:31 pm »
thanks Bevan, I think you where answering my post as I was answering yours!!!, I'll google them, but I think they're in the US , I'm in the UK and not patient enough to order bolts from them. Good idea though, didnt think of buying the right bolts!!!?, they must be available over here too.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 07:10:52 pm by dragonman »
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline Bevan R.

« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2011, 08:10:34 pm »
Have you tried Quicks? They have shops listed in Hampshire, Near London, Devon, & Leicester. I used to order stuff from them several years ago. Seemed like good folks.

Bevan