Author Topic: Another New Guy  (Read 4276 times)

Offline wildkatt

Another New Guy
« on: January 18, 2011, 11:43:00 am »
O-kay this is how it all began. About a year ago My wife said something to me about trying Horse archery. Well i thought it might have some potential but as always life got in the way. about July of last year we decided to give it a try so she found a great Boyer in Oklahoma by the name of Eric Smith so i called him and we talked about bows. I had him make me a 50#  52 in. Buffalo sinew backed bow. Its a gull wing style plains Indian bow of museum Quality.So i started shooting it in August loved it so i had him make me one similar only this one is 70# with a rattlesnake back for weatherproofing.(figered gonna hunt with it). We stayed in touch and he invited me to come down and go pig hunting over Thanksgiving weekend with him and his family so i went.Been a hunter my whole life. Never been bow hunting. so i learned how to make arrows and made a bunch and went.Shot my first animal ever with a bow(what a rush lol).So while i was down there he started teaching me how to make bows the old way at hunting camp(im hooked). So when i had him make the heavier bow my intention was to take it elk hunting this year(wanted to make sure i could hit what i was aiming at).I was already set up to do my yearly Buffalo hunt and decided to take the bow and see if i could get a shot. Long story short 2 two year old Buffalo Bulls with 3 arrows and the second bull the arrow passed all the way thru.So now a have made bows for both of my granddaughters ages 6 and 3 and they love them. so now im planing on making me a new bow for this years hunts.So i will be on here probably asking lots of stupid questions.I have officially retired my hunting rifles and gone primitive.Will post pic of Buffalo when i figger out how.   
I didnt claw my way to the top of the food chain to eat vegies

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Another New Guy