Author Topic: Lets talk D bows  (Read 29318 times)

Offline Traxx

Lets talk D bows
« on: May 08, 2007, 11:19:29 pm »
Lets talk about the common D bow.Whatever ya like,dislike,methods of manufacture,whatever.Feel free ta post pics if you like.I like seein and talkin about the oldest design of bow.They still hold their own today.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Lets talk D bows
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2007, 01:15:38 am »
Are you talking "D" profile or "D" cross section? ??? Someone asked me that when I was talking about the cross section.   Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Traxx

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2007, 03:06:05 am »
D profile.

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2007, 01:00:34 pm »
I should think the two together "D" profile or "D" cross section make up the oldest design.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2007, 01:07:59 pm »
I like the D-bow design. I've made a couple of Eastern NA style d-profile flatbows; and they're surprisingly efficient, quick to make, and easy to tiller.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline AndrewS

« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2007, 03:12:01 pm »
I agree with Hillbilly. I'm a fan since I use hickory.
The d-bow is very efficient if you will give it a deflex/reflex design with heat. The Cayuga bow like one of the communitybows is a very good example.

Offline tom sawyer

« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2007, 04:01:27 pm »
I like them because you are less likely to get set near the handle, than a stiff-handled bow with fades.  But you can still leave the handle area slightly raised and have a semi-bendy handled design that only works slightly through the handle.  That has better shooting manners when you are talking about higher poundages (over 50lb).
Lennie