Author Topic: Noob bowyer  (Read 2947 times)

Offline SiongSA

Noob bowyer
« on: December 30, 2010, 01:33:39 pm »
Hey all,
i'm a noob to this scene, although i've been making bows outta braches since i was 4 i've ever gotten into anything serious. So i was in this african market and came accross some traditional bows so i got one for a few bucks, nothing fancy but the pull hard and seem pretty good. But heres the problem, i'm 15, and its to hard for me to draw properly, so is there any way to soften up an all ready man, dry bow?  any more advice wud be appreciated:)

Sion

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Noob bowyer
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2010, 01:48:54 pm »
Why not make a bow and save that one for when you build up your archery muscles and can pull it. Sounds like a cool bow. Can you post pics of it?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Hrothgar

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2010, 01:53:33 pm »
Sion, once the wood is cured its not really possible to "soften it up"  again or make it more flexible, but you could probably take a scraper or draw knife or even 50 grit sand paper and take a little off the back. If the bow is tillered good, just scrap the entire back-handle to tip-and try to take off an even amount from the entire limb. If the bow bends through the handle you can also take a little off it too.
Hope this helps, Eric
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

Offline SiongSA

« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2010, 01:56:09 pm »
wait i'll just upload some, maybe your right dude but there is very few good trees for bows in South africa, although i did cut some ash this morning which i debarked is drying, but i don't know if it'll work, is ash any good. Also will soaking the stave is warm water make it more flexible permanently?

Sion

Offline SiongSA

« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2010, 01:59:08 pm »