Author Topic: Went semi-retro (not primitive, sorry)  (Read 3122 times)

JustinNC

Went semi-retro (not primitive, sorry)
« on: December 06, 2010, 04:24:51 pm »
Well life has gotten in the way the past 2 years and I havent been in the woods since Dec 2008 chasing Bambi. Anyway, hoping to be over that hurdle for the most part. Finally got a chance to get in the woods on a new place I just got permission to hunt on (about 3 hours prior actually). Headed out with a Model 94 30-30 (scoped, hense the SEMI-RETRO) that my dad gave me when I graduated high school way back when. I always wanted a 30-30 so I could be "normal" like all the other kids in school, but always carried my 270 I bought when I was 15 (well gave the money to my dad at the time and he got it for me), and never carried the 30-30. Fast FWD to saturday....

Ran a couple shells through it with the TRASHCO  3x9x50 on top and made sure it was sighted in, grabbed a folding/bag (hense SEMI RETRO...i.e. didnt sit on a stump or log) chair and headed to the new place. After a little discussion with the land owner on where he thought I should go, I set up underneath a cedar tree with a little background and break up and go comfy.

About 5:20 three deer came in. Thought I saw one mount the other, but couldnt quite tell. Well after a few minutes of playing peek a boo through the scope, I finally got one broadside that I could actually see, minus the head, and squeezed on off. She dropped right there. Turned out to be the largest doe Id ever killed.