Author Topic: first bow  (Read 2627 times)

Offline kmshfa

first bow
« on: December 03, 2010, 04:35:30 am »
this is my first attempt.  I'm just at the long string tiller phase.  I am also fighting a pretty bad propeller twist.  I feel like I am a just barely feeling my way through this project.

Offline straightarrow

• "Success or failure, neither are final"
Re: first bow
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2010, 05:25:40 am »
If your feeling your way through....Stop and ask questions. The guys on here will be more then happy to help you out. If you have the TBB 4 there is a great chapter on tillering bows with character. That will help you with the propeller twist. Once you get rolling on the tiller, take pictures and post them. You should recieve alot of input

Jon

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2010, 07:28:09 am »
You look like you have a good start,just take your time and like Jon said ask questions,check out some build alongs here and also Jawges has a great site that will help you along.Nothing like your first,it's a great feeling when you get your first shooter. Good luck. :) :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2010, 07:32:08 am »
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline kmshfa

« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2010, 04:10:26 pm »
This bows twists in both limbs in opposite directions.  I was wondering...do I tiller the twist out at full draw by taking meat off the high side?  I have been doing that a bit and it seems to make the limbs noticeably thicker on one side.  Will this have adverse side effects while shooting?  The other two options I see are ignoring and making limbs equal thickness side to side or trying to steam the bow and take them out.  I have tried dry heat with a heat gun with little success.