Author Topic: Quarter sawn wood  (Read 11469 times)

Offline wvarcher

Quarter sawn wood
« on: December 02, 2010, 09:52:15 pm »
Are there any advantages to quartersawn wood as opposed to flatsawn wood?

Offline Hrothgar

Re: Quarter sawn wood
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2010, 10:26:40 pm »
I'm no expert and I've only done a few board bows. But...this summer I built 2 short pyramid bows out of white hickory--same design, about the same weight, one quarter sawn and the other flat sawn. With  the board that was quarter sawn I had a lot of trouble with the limbs wanting to "propellar". I would get one limb looking pretty good then the other would act up. On the other hand, the board that was flat cut ending up producing a bow with a lot of set in one limb, but I wrote that off to excessive moisture and poor early tillering. Hope this helps.
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

Offline wvarcher

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2010, 10:42:12 pm »
Thanks, Hrothgar.  I've always heard Quartersawn wood is best for making bows.   Don't know how true that is.  It's making me wonder if pulling the bark off of a tree i have cut and using the outside of the tree as the back of my bow is the best option.  Would i have stronger wood if i turned a tree into quartersawn lumber?

Offline sailordad

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2010, 12:26:03 am »
alot of trees,especially whte woods,thats exacltly how you make a bow
cut it,split it,remove bark and cambium and thats the back or of your bow
woods like hickory,elm,hop horn beam,maple etc are all white woods
orthers like osage,black locust, etc are best when chased to the heartwood
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2010, 07:39:10 am »