Author Topic: Osage?  (Read 2145 times)

Offline Ozzy

Osage?
« on: November 11, 2010, 09:22:20 pm »
I just got a osage stave from a friend it is many years down and dry .
 I will not have the time to get the back done all at once
 should I seal it as I go or will what I get done be fine?
If so what should I use?
Thanks for any in put .             
             Ozzy
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 09:28:44 pm by OZZY »
THE BEST SUNRISES ARE SEEN 20 FEET UP A TREE.

Offline Bill Skinner

Re: Osage?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2010, 09:37:35 pm »
How wet is it where you are?  If it is dry with low humidity, I wouldn't bother, unless you are going to be chasing a ring for a couple of months.  If it is going to be a three year bow, seal the ends with something.  It fits the better safe than sorry story.  I am not an expert, if some of the experianced bowyers chime in, do what they say.  Bill

Offline HoBow

• The choices we make dictate the lives we lead.
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2010, 09:47:21 pm »
Don't bother sealing it everytime you take a break, but if you're working on it slowly with several months break, then you might want to consider sealing it.  The wood should be plenty dry, so no worries. 
Jeff Utley- Atlanta GA

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2010, 11:41:16 pm »
I keep spray shellac on my work bench all the time. For the last few years I have been sealing a freshly chased back ring no matter how well seasoned it is. I have had checks occur in well seasoned wood and the shellac is cheap enough and easy to remove later before adding your final finish so why take chances with good bow wood.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2010, 01:24:39 am »