Author Topic: Cane arrow flight  (Read 5604 times)

Offline Bowjo

Cane arrow flight
« on: September 13, 2010, 10:38:03 pm »
This is my first try with cane.I have made up about 10 arrows.I am really having trouble getting good flight out of these.So far,I can only get 1 out of 4  to fly good.I have some that are 4 fletch and some 3 fletch.Some are very sensitive to which way I put the nock on the string (only two ways)...I am not sure if the problem is underspine,too uneven,or too much sinew on the feather ends.I am really happy that I can a few to fly good for hunting this year.I just hate to make so many to find out that I can't shoot them.Do you guys get alot of bum arrows when making a batch?......Joe

Offline NTD

Re: Cane arrow flight
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2010, 10:58:05 pm »
Are you making sure that the stiff side of the cane is oriented towards the bow?  If not this will drastically affect the flight of your arrows.  If you've done that it's probably a spine issue.
Nate Danforth

Offline LEGIONNAIRE

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2010, 11:00:11 pm »
So what exactly is the problem with your arrows? if they are fishtailing they may be underspined. I made some, not can arrows, but they were to long hence underspined, so I shortened them from 32-25, bow draws 24 and now they fly exeptionally! check your fletchings too. Pics would be nice.
CESAR

LEGIONNAIRE ARCHERY

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2010, 11:01:56 pm »
Cane on average flies better than any commercial shaft if done right. Are they perfectly straight? Usually if I get a wierd flier it's either not straight or the fletching is off somehow. Spine issues will give you arrows that don't group together, but they will still fly straight, just left or right of the correctly spined ones.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline Bowjo