Author Topic: What Inspires me (odd random thoughs, with your indulgence)  (Read 23030 times)

Offline Dane

What Inspires me (odd random thoughs, with your indulgence)
« on: April 18, 2007, 08:38:03 pm »
Hi, everyone. Okay, I've been around long enough to maybe pester all of you with a few observations about what really inspires me to go create something, including...well, bows and arrows :) Maybe this won't be too strange a thread or topic - I've been a bit our of sorts lately because of the hours at work have been non-stop (or seemingly so), and since I write for a living, and deadlines don't care if you are not feeling creative, it is draining!

1. Shaker stuff, and other beautiful examples of craftsmenship. I am very lucky, in that I live within driving distance of Hancock Shaker Villiage, near Pittsfield, MA. Walking the grounds, and seeing the buildings, the household goods, the dry stonework and the colors in the various buildings, the cool plasterwork and the cast iron stoves, all of it is just breathtaking. I have a book here called The Shakers: Hands To Work Hearts to God, by Amy Stechler Burns and Ken Burns. (Yes, that Ken Burns). Glancing through the book was and is incredibly inspiring. Go to the library and check it out. What they did with their hands and simple hand tools is very much in the spirit of primitive archery.

2. JS Bach.

3. Zen Buddism

4. My pug Davenport.