Author Topic: Sourwood...too big?  (Read 1966 times)

JustinNC

Sourwood...too big?
« on: July 27, 2010, 05:49:12 pm »
I'm a newbie to the whole traditional game. Trying to put together the best possible traditional setup that I personally can build, from native NC material (which stopped me from collecting some privet and autumn olive shoots today lol) as well as buying shafts (not to mention associated costs of bying shaft material). I do realize I won't get off cost free, but would like to keep the materials as "North Carolina" as possible. Been spending a lot of time reading and reading and reading a little more. I think I have just about worn the search function out on the site. Planning on collecting some sourwood for shafts but not sure what what is too big to get and get planed down.

Seems Mr Pat B and Hillbilly are the experts here on sourwood. Would like to hear their input on how big is too big. Most of the second year growth stuff I saw today was about the size of a penny or so. I understand that it shrinks considerably when dried, however, knowing what the upper limits on what I should collect would be would aid considerably in my cutting or finding. Not sure how much sanding and planing one can do to it?

Collected some black locust bow wood this past weekend and plan on searching for hill cane this fall as well. Also have a bug in a buddy's ear that is in charge of a tree trimming crew contracted for work down in the Raleigh area for bow wood.

Anyway...as with anybody that knows me, I'm ramblin as usual. But yeah, about the sourwood shoots?

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
Re: Sourwood...too big?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 06:19:55 pm »
that sounds maybe a little big. About the size of your pinky or smaller is good. Like you said, they'll shrink some. I like to cut mine a little big and plane them down to diameter, seem to stay straight a little better.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com