Author Topic: need a new bow , suggestions?  (Read 6817 times)

Offline 15yearold.archer

need a new bow , suggestions?
« on: July 19, 2010, 12:51:28 am »
hello i just recently finished my first bow wanted to use it for deer hunting this fall but it came out way to light and would leave only a wounded deer in the forest, i live in pembroke,ontario about an hour to ottawa but here i only have limited supplies ,all ive been able to make are boardbows cause thats whats at homedepot any suggestions or ideas on how i can come out with a nice laminated bow to have for deer hunting, and just to let you know im still pretty new to this stuff so try and make it understandable also like i said supplies are limited but im willing to use any combonations of wood or fiberglass to come out with a nice 50+ pound bow , pleease help me

Offline sailordad

Re: need a new bow , suggestions?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2010, 12:56:03 am »
find your self i nice hick board,1/4 sawn
back it with fabric

i do this and dont have problemd making 50-55lb bows
i keep it 1.75" wide at the fades,with a straight taper to 1/2" tips,68"long
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline 15yearold.archer

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2010, 01:03:01 am »
were do i get a hickory board ? im just really new to this but i understand the building part of it an how much will you usually pay for one?

Offline sailordad

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2010, 01:09:17 am »
well i never have had luck finding them at the box stores
some guys find it ther,but not me
i go to sawmills here in minnesota and get it
i call them first to save a trip if they dont have any
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline 15yearold.archer

« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2010, 01:17:10 am »