Author Topic: wood (tree) selection in the feild (forest) lol  (Read 2522 times)

Offline dan catalyst

wood (tree) selection in the feild (forest) lol
« on: May 19, 2010, 06:45:48 pm »
 hello all, im new to primitive archery,and had a couple questions about selecting trees in the forest to use as staves.ive built a couple flintlocks and have pretty good wood skills,so im looking to build something a little more involved than a simple stright lemonwood bow.im thinking a laminate might not be the best idea for a first bow,so i want to built a single species (no laminate) type steamed recurve.i want to harvest the wood myself here in the woods of east texas.i own a chainsaw and bandsaw,and really just need some pointers on what type of wood to use,how long to let it dry before i start working it what diameter tree and any other pointers you might have for a beginner. thanks!
                        dan

Offline osage outlaw

Re: wood (tree) selection in the feild (forest) lol
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2010, 11:23:01 pm »
Do they have osage in E. Texas?  If so, that would be a good start.  Are you close to Nocona?
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline dan catalyst

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 12:25:19 am »
i might be a little too far south (houston) for the osage orange, but im not sure. i know we have hickory.

Offline sailordad

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2010, 12:27:50 am »
nothing wrong with hick
it likes a dry climate too
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline Parnell

« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2010, 12:05:58 pm »
Hickory would work out great.  Choose straight tree that doesn't have much twist.  The rule of thumb is an inch of wood seasoned per year  - from each side of the split stave, that is.  If you reduce the stave to near bow dimensions you could speed up the process.