Author Topic: Anybody have a timberhitch get loose???  (Read 2190 times)

Offline bigcountry

Anybody have a timberhitch get loose???
« on: May 13, 2010, 07:58:54 pm »
Was tillering an osage bow last night.  I have a loop on one end, and a timberhitch on another.  Strung up the bow, and was checking tiller with my gizmo.  All the sudden, bow snaps out of my hand, smacks me in the jaw. 

Some how the timber hitch side has 4 strands broke and slide down the limb like a "looped" side.  It tore a small crack from the inside of the nock down 1".  I had to shorten the bow limb by 1".

Still can't figure out what happened.
Westminster, MD

Offline bowstring

Re: Anybody have a timberhitch get loose???
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 08:34:47 pm »
   Bigcountry,
 I'm not an expert, but it sounds like you had a sharp edge in the nock. Happened to me once! Or, you had a tiny fracture in the nock, and the pressure on the string sheared it's way in and cut the string,,, One way to help prevent this is to rub nock grooves with a Q-Tip, or cotton swab. any snags or rough spots will really show up!! "bowstring"
"We are, what we do, when it counts"

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2010, 12:07:45 am »
I have used a timber hitch for many years and never had one come loose. I have had them slip a bit. Sounds like your nock gave loose. Will you post a pic of the tip?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline bigcountry

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2010, 01:50:20 am »
I already cut and fixed it.  I designed this one with 1" longer or so tip limb.  Guess they now will be even.

After going over and over it, here is where I think I screwed up.  Number one my nocks ere sharp with respect to the bow back.  Two, I just got done adjusting the hitch to get my tiller to 5".  So I bet I didn't check on it again.  And one side fell off and the othe was only holding with 4 strands.

Another lesson for the toolbox.