Author Topic: New to the subject  (Read 3986 times)

Offline Crash

New to the subject
« on: February 25, 2010, 09:58:00 pm »
Hey Guys, first of all, happy to be here, my first post ever!

I've been doing primitive camping trips for the past three years, made my own leather, knives, clothes, and this year I thought I'd make my own bow. I really really like short bows as we hike a lot and I'm only really interested in small game hunting (don't want to carve up a dear and make it last a week in the wild)

How would I go about making a short bow (48" or less), @ 30-40#. Not really concerned with draw length. D style? Relex/deflex? woods available in NY?

I was thinking of using hickory and backing it with another type of wood, or maybe silk.

Thanks for the input!
I know everything, just not all at the same time...

Offline bryan irwin

Re: New to the subject
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2010, 10:02:37 pm »
welcome to pa hickory will make good bow i have made bows from maple hickory red oak and ipe
bryan irwin

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2010, 10:06:30 pm »
Welcome aboard Crash! Others will chime in but the shorter the bow you build the trickier it gets. I would say Hic is a good choice to start with..
« Last Edit: February 26, 2010, 11:13:28 am by cowboy »
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline Parnell

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2010, 11:21:50 pm »
Welcome aboard!  From the sound of things, it almost sounds like you think you're going to just build one...ha ha ha, good luck with that.  Hickory definitely is good stuff.  Especially if you haven't built one before.  Shorter draw D style bow.  Keep us posted!
1’—>1’

Offline Crash

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2010, 11:28:38 pm »
Thanks, I've done a lot of research, but research can only take you so far.  :)

Offline KenH

• The Kilted Cook
    • The Kilted Cook Personal Chef