Author Topic: Mesquite Bow?  (Read 25202 times)

Offline RabidApache

Mesquite Bow?
« on: February 08, 2010, 02:41:38 pm »
Hello everyone, newbie here from AZ. I just completed my first ever bow from Hickory. Specs are 66" pulls 57#@27" and it shoots like a dream. Its not purdy, but it kills. Period.
So my question is about Mesquite wood, has anyone ever tried working with this wood? Since I'm in Az, I have plenty to spare. How about Salt Cedar as a bow wood.
Your thoughts please, hunting season is over now. So now I wanna build bows and experiment. Thanxx

Lion hunting with my bow.
Forever making arrows!

Offline PeteC

Re: Mesquite Bow?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 02:48:53 pm »
Welcome RA,glad to have you.That's a fine lookin' hickory bow you've got there.And,yes,mesquite will build a good bow,it's just hard to find a straight piece that's long enough.Hope you can find some. God Bless
What you believe determines how you behave., Pete Clayton, Whitehouse ,Texas

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 03:37:34 pm »
Welcome to PA, RabidApache. The dry AZ climate is perfect for hickory bows. Hickory likes to be dryer than most other bow wood.   I have made good arrows with salt cedar.  Don't know about bows but give it a try and let us know.
  Show us a good full draw pic of your bow and OldBow will sign you up for Bow of the Month.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline NTProf

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2010, 03:42:18 pm »
Rabid,

Looks great! The scenery is awesome, too. Is your hickory bow from a board or from a tree stave?

Offline hawkbow

• High Country Archer
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2010, 04:54:08 pm »
 Welcome brother of the bow.. I have used salt cedar for arrows for years.. tough wood.. I bet it would work great for a bow! great looking bow you built, look forward to seeing more... Hawk
IT IS BETTER TO LOSE WITH HONOR. THAN TO WIN THROUGH DECEPTION...