Author Topic: learning to shoot  (Read 5856 times)

Offline jnoel2279

learning to shoot
« on: January 12, 2010, 10:39:38 pm »
what is the best advice you'll can give me for learning to shoot instinictual (sp).I'm new to the sport and I would like to learn how to and if I can learn to shoot, before i jump into this sport and get the wife mad at me again. Please help. thanks in advanced and God Bless

Offline woodstick

Re: learning to shoot
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2010, 10:53:47 pm »
get ya a bow that is not to strong for ya. shoot alot. i just look at what i want to hit and sling wood. shoot the same every time. i video myself when i first started and could see what i was doing wrong. dont shoot till you wear yourself out you pick up bad habits. use the same anchor point every time. oh ya shoot alot. shoot good.
a drawn bow is a stick 9/10 broken

Offline jnoel2279

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2010, 11:05:05 pm »
is there a difference in left or right handed  bows for this topic? I'm a south paw , and in the past i wolud shoot a compound bow and it was left handed set at 70#. what would you advise?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2010, 01:32:15 am »
I learned instinctive shoot by reading G.Fred Asbell's book, INSTINCTIVE SHOOTING. He goes through it all step by step and in simple terms and explains his methods so even I could understand.  ;D
   There are left and right handed bows. Depending on which style bow you will be shooting some grips are more interchangeable than others.  If you are used to shooting a 70# compound I would suggest you buying an inexpensive bow pulling 45# to 50#. That way you can learn to shoot without straining and once you get it down you can build yourself a more suitable bow.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Kegan

« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2010, 02:22:26 pm »