Author Topic: shooting off of the hand more accurate??  (Read 2839 times)

Offline rudderbows

• Rudderbows Archery
shooting off of the hand more accurate??
« on: December 10, 2009, 12:47:08 am »
I recently started shooting off of my hand VS. an arrow rest. Found out I am hitting more accuratly more often this way. Strange enough, anyone else do the same thing? Why??

radius

Re: shooting off of the hand more accurate??
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2009, 02:20:07 am »
logically no reason i can think of...in fact slight differences of hand placement could cause inconsistency in shooting...i shoot off the hand because i don't like built'up arrow rests on my self bows, i just put a mark on one side and sometimes a thumb groove on the other.  Accuracy is good.

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2009, 07:09:09 am »
as long as I have a consistent hand position marked on my bow, i find it to be just  as accurate, not sure if I'm more accurate.
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline adb

« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2009, 01:03:26 pm »
I only shoot off the fist with my heavy warbows.

Offline markinengland

« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2009, 01:11:03 pm »
A fixed rest is more accurate or at least more consistent because it can not move.

Off the hand does give you a much more direct contact with your shooting though which may explain why some people do better with it. I shoot terribly with any bow with a shelf because my instinct is so used to having the arrows lower down and on my hand. some would say I shoot terribly all the time!

Offline NTProf

« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2009, 01:52:10 pm »
I tried a shelf several times, but I could never shoot as well as off my hand. But I don't have any reason. And perhaps the hand is more "forgiving" than a "hard" shelf. But I don't know.

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers