Author Topic: Non-Primitive Bow Materials  (Read 30720 times)

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Non-Primitive Bow Materials
« on: November 30, 2009, 11:46:20 am »
There has been some concern over the use of phenolic in making bows, in this case the handle. The concern is that phenolic is not a true natural material. But we use Urac-185 and resorcinol glues in making laminated bows. These substances are absolutely not natural. Google up phenolic, Urac-185 and resorcinol and you will see what I mean. Without suitable glues, there will be no Laminate Bow of the Month entries.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Non-Primitive Bow Materials
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2009, 11:56:38 am »
Don, I believe as long as these materials are used only as accessory(tip and handle overlays or in a built-up handle riser) and not used in the performance of the bow, they should be acceptable.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2009, 12:10:18 pm »
I agree with Pat. But I have to admit I use B 50 for strings and feel pretty guilty about using the stuff on a selfbow. But just a caveat. We have to watch the steadily encroaching non natural materials in the Primitive Selfbow contest. Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline knightd

• www.primalneedarchery.com
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2009, 12:12:12 pm »
If used as pat states..I to think they should be accepted.

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2009, 12:18:38 pm »
...so are you saying that if we use Urac 185 to glue up our bows that they cannot contend in the laminate bow of the month contest?   If so that's cool just need to know of a more suitable glue to use instead.   :)  -josh