Author Topic: Miwok bow #5. testing the limits of primitive design, incense cedar and sinew  (Read 23138 times)

Offline loefflerchuck

• www.heartwoodbows.com
If this posts this time I will write about the bow.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Parnell

Nicely done.  Those shorties always get me riled up.  Post some more 'natural' pictures, heh?
1’—>1’

Offline loefflerchuck

• www.heartwoodbows.com
  Being a big fan of history and archery, I like to recreate the archery tackle of the indigenous people who once lived where I reside. Spending half my time in the bay area. The Sierra Miwok bow acquired by trade was the bow used by the Costanoan in this area. The bow was a popular trade item and in use throughout central California. The bows were made from California nutmeg and Incense cedar.
  The first few Miwok bows I replicated were made from the Incense cedar trunk. Historical writings say the limbs were preferred. Eventually I figured out how to find the ideal limb for a bow. No twist with a upward curve. The top half of the limb with a natural reflex becomes the bow.
  The limb that made this bow was far from ideal. It had a double propeller twist, but this stave seemed special. After working it down I noticed the opposite twist aligned the string perfectly center at the handle. I apply ed a thick backing of sinew in 2 stages. More than a third of the total thickness. The result is a amazing snappy bow.
  The bow is 38.5" and pulls 46# at 25". Even over drawn this far, within a hour or 2 of being unstrung it returns to a reflexed shape. Like the original the knocks are of molded sinew extending past the wood to form a hook (so the string doesn't slip off). The string is 3 ply elk sinew with otter fir wrapping to deaden the twang.

Offline Parnell

Far'z I can figure the greatest things posted are those that are primitive, but have some true challenge.  I'd say you ran that one down.  If it were mine I'd smile twice it at! ;D
1’—>1’

Offline medicinewheel