Author Topic: Question on a maple board bow  (Read 3825 times)

vtclimber

Question on a maple board bow
« on: October 19, 2009, 08:56:45 am »
Morning all. I am new to bow making and have been "lurking" on this site for a week or so now. I've been involved in woodworking for some time now and am also into luthery, but have not made a bow since I was young. I picked up a 1x2 maple board and was hoping for around 45-50 lb draw. I ripped the board in half and so I had 2 pieces that were 1x2 by 3/8" thick, and followed a laminate methodology. I also recurved the ends. The resulting draw was far lighter draw than what I had hoped. It currently has no backing and I was wondering if anyone might be aware of a backing material I could use that might add 7-10lbs of draw? That would put me near what I wanted for a target.

Also, I had a question regarding wood selection (again, if this is posted already I apologize). Coming from a cabinet and luthery world I generally go for quartersawn as opposed to flatsawn or plainsawn. Which type of cut do I really want? If I go the way I did when I was young it would be to quarter a tree and then shape the stave from there....Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

Offline snedeker

Re: Question on a maple board bow
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2009, 09:58:26 am »
I don't quite follow the sequence of ripping a 1x2 in half and getting two 1x2s  3/8 thick??

To be clear, hat are the dimensions currently of you bow?  Thickness and width in lower limb and length.

You can easily slap a 1/8 strip of hickory or maple on it and add 15 lb

Dave

vtclimber

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2009, 10:43:35 am »
Hi Dave,

Currently the bow is as follows:

Just over 3/8" thick in the limbs. It is 58" ntn and pulling at about 35lbs at 24". I would like to get it to 45-50 at 28".
The limbs are 1.5" at handle tapering to .5" at tips.