Author Topic: primative versus traditional  (Read 13537 times)

Offline II BYRDS

primative versus traditional
« on: August 03, 2009, 04:14:43 am »
OK call me stupid. i am just starting out with shooting traditional/primitive. My mine set is primitive. i have my first bow Osage bamboo backed self bow? i have been looking for some shaft material for arrow shafts. my first set of arrows are port orferd crown dipped red and crested with the colors of the four directions with White cock feather and red hen feathers. so question is what makes the bow i have now traditional versus primitive. and can i us ash shafts and haft my own napped arrow heads to them what would it be primitive or not. i been trying to find some dog wood shoots in my area but cant seem to find any.

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: primative versus traditional
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2009, 07:52:55 am »
First everyone has there own thought on Primitive,get out the popcorn. ;)  ;D The bow you are shooting altho by some my be classed as primitive it is not a self bow .It is a backed bow .A self bow is self backed. I don't think just using homemade arrow is going to change primitive from Trad.I gave up worrying about that stuff a long time ago.I shoot what I like and build as much of it as I can.
Both are terms given by modern man anyway.Just shoot,Have fun and come up with your own Idea
of what is primitive. :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline cracker

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 07:57:52 am »
Well put Pappy. Nothing more needs to be said. However I do have my popcorn ready cause I smell a debate looming on the horizon. Ronnie
If we can't help each other what is the point of being here?

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2009, 08:05:56 am »
 ;D ;D ;D
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good