Author Topic: Anyone work with birch?  (Read 3407 times)

Offline paulc

Anyone work with birch?
« on: July 27, 2009, 09:27:41 am »
My latest attempt at a bow (I have yet to be successful) is bamboo backed birch.  I know the tree as sweet birch or cherry bark birch here in GA.  Anyone worked with it before?  Any thoughts?  Have I already messed up trying to back birch with bamboo?

TIA, Paulc

radius

Re: Anyone work with birch?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 10:48:52 am »
some guy last year made some cool birch bows...left the bark on, i think!

I wanna make some bows with the white birch that grows around here...that wood is HARD

Offline adb

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2009, 11:10:08 am »
I haven't personally made a bow from birch, but I know people who have. Treat it like most whitewoods... wide, flat and long.

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2009, 12:02:38 pm »
Makes great arrow shafts ;)
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Herm from Bavaria

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2009, 03:58:11 pm »
hey folks

doesnt boo overpower birch on belly?

indygoman

« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2009, 09:50:59 pm »
Her ya go !

This is from another site but atleast ya know its duable . ;)  I am also working on one right now so far so good   :D

Heres the link

http://paleoplanet69529.yuku.com/topic/18242/t/Bow-3-Nasty-My-Second-River-Birch-Bow-Full-Draw-Added.html

Offline snedeker

« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2009, 11:13:57 am »
I made a board  bow, sil backed, from sweet birch two years ago and found it to be similar to sweet maple in characteristics. 

Dave

radius

« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2009, 11:18:44 am »
indygoman, i think the birch bow on that link has too much set...no?

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2009, 06:09:43 pm »
I made a 'Birch' Bow, with the bark left on the back either side of where it was de-crowned.