Author Topic: heat treating shafts  (Read 9003 times)

Offline chasing crow

heat treating shafts
« on: July 03, 2009, 10:26:08 am »
Hello all,
As a complete newbe, I have another question. I am working on a walnut shoot arrow shaft for my first attempt. I have seen numerous mentions of heat treating of shafts using a gas grill, but I can't recall reading of the actual mehtod. Any input or guidance as to sources of info?
Thanks,
Chasing Crow
We know more than we think we do. Pass your knowledge on to our youth

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: heat treating shafts
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2009, 10:52:03 am »
CC, When I work with sourwood I use my gas kitchen stove for heat straightening(usually with oil so not to scorch it). After I'm sure everything is good and straight I will start at one of the shoot and begin to heat it(without oil this time), rotating the shoot until it beginning to turn color, than work my way down the shoot until the entire shoot has been heat treated. Be careful at the far end because any moisture will come out as steam and can burn you. Once the shoots are tempered I let them rest on a flat surface for a few days at least before continuing to work them. This allows then to rehydrate.
   I have not tried walnut shoots.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline chasing crow

« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2009, 03:19:10 pm »
Pat,
Thanks for the info. I will give it a try as soon as my burgers are off the grill this afternoon!
Chasing Crow
We know more than we think we do. Pass your knowledge on to our youth

Offline dmassphoto

« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2010, 05:45:34 pm »