Author Topic: ERC  (Read 7071 times)

Offline John K

ERC
« on: June 11, 2009, 11:18:20 am »
Hi All, I'm wondering what a good design for ERC would be  ???

The stave is just under 61" 2" wide and knot free. I would like to build a bow that bends through the handle and is unbacked. around 40#'s would be great.

Here are a few pics. Thanks John !
the back.

the belly

and a couple of the sides.

The only way to fail is to never start !

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Re: ERC
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 12:19:08 pm »
Envy! :P :P :P
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline John K

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 01:31:37 pm »
I tell ya, if this stuff works out, i'm going to get more of it....it sure is fun and EASY to work !

Offline adb

« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2009, 02:46:16 pm »
ERC makes an excellent ELB, but that piece is a bit short. I'm sure it'll make a good flatbow. That being said, I did just finish a 58" yew ELB bendy handle. I think whatever strikes your fancy!

Offline John K

« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2009, 02:52:31 pm »
Thanks Adam, Will see what see happens, it still needs some time to dry. It was cut only 3 weeks ago !

Offline snedeker

« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2009, 04:04:52 pm »
From what I've seen here over the years the shorter pieces make a nice sinewed wide flatbow

Dave

Offline ricktrojanowski

• Worlds Greatest Deer Repellent
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2009, 10:50:12 pm »
John
I'm in the process of making a sinew backed ERC.  It is in a holding pattern. ;)  I made it 58" long bend through the handle,  1 7/8"  for 2/3 the lenght of the limb, to about 5/8 at the tip.  The stave I had was clear but I backed it to be safe.  I think you could make it about the same dimensions with no problem  since it is such a clean stave. 
Traverse City, MI

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2009, 11:31:24 pm »