Author Topic: Red Oak board bow backing?  (Read 22139 times)

Dreadroot

Red Oak board bow backing?
« on: May 24, 2009, 12:00:53 pm »
Just as the title says, I recently decided to attempt to make a longbow out of a red oak board and was curious how it should be backed. I've only backed 1 bow before (a hickory one, rawhide backing, rather pathetic bow but still...) and I am unsure what should be used for a "board bow", considering i've never done it before. I can only assume that backing is very recomended for this type of bow, considering it has no defined "back" or "belly", but I don't know for sure, as I only just started working on the riser and havn't even started shaping the limbs.
any way, what backing should be used for this type of bow? rawhide? snakeskin (please dont say snakeskin...its rather expensive....)

Offline sailordad

Re: Red Oak board bow backing?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2009, 12:15:38 pm »
well what kind of grain orientation does the board have?

not all boards are created equal,and not all should be used for bows.however if you do have a good grained board.
it is not completely neccasary to back it but is recomended.
i have made several hick board bows,some backed some not
i like using a cotton cloth with a camo pattern,then i put tbbIII glue on the back of the board and let ot dry.
then i cut the fabric to size,get it damp,apply glue to the cloth,spread the cloth onto the back of the board,pull tight
length ways and side to side.i like to use small clamps to hold the fabric at the tips.
then i wipe off any excessive glue from the cloth and let it dry.
good luck
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2009, 09:13:06 pm »