Author Topic: Wood types  (Read 6204 times)

first-timer

Wood types
« on: May 22, 2009, 07:27:18 pm »
Sorry if this isn't the right thread to post this on, new to the site and I'm not too sure where evrything goes yet :P
Anyways, I was looking into making bows, but I was wondering where to get the wood for it. Up here in the North we have a small amout of oak, and alot of christmas trees (not quite sure what the proper name for them is.) So I was wondering if you guys here had any tips as to alternative woods. I'm not looking for anything real complicated, because I'm just starting out with this stuff, and it will be years before I'm as good as you guys at this stuff :P

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
Re: Wood types
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2009, 08:45:16 pm »
Oak is good. What kind of oak? Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

first-timer

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2009, 11:02:16 pm »
Actualy, never mind what I just said about oak. Sorry, I'm an idiot as far as identifiying trees goes. I asked my friend earlier and apparently it's just trees that I thought look like oak. Got Junniper, Birch, Alders, Balsom. I think I'll have to bring my friend with me when I go looking for wood. Anyways, are any of those any good? I think junniper is, but even so those woods are all outnumbered by far by the christmast trees :P

Offline Diligence

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2009, 12:11:27 am »
I'm far, far from being any sort of expert, but in Newfoundland you can use the birch and perhaps the tamarack (larch) too....and if you can find pin cherry or choke cherry or saskatoon berry - you are set.

D
"Always do your best and to everyone be kind and good" - Ernst Hjalmer Selin (1906-2000)....my grandfather's words of advice he wanted me to tell my children.

first-timer

« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2009, 12:31:32 am »