Author Topic: Any S/W boyers ever use Huisache?  (Read 5302 times)

Tombow

Any S/W boyers ever use Huisache?
« on: May 14, 2009, 02:54:39 pm »
Greetings guys, I'm fairly new to this board and my thanks to all of your help and info as I have lurked...My question is about the 'hated' Huisache tree. If you're not familiar with it, it's an acacia similar to Mesquite only it stinks when burned and doesn't split as easily. I've found it to be pretty tough and 'springy' and made one little sapling bow from it which was unbreakable. I'm curing a few larger staves now and wondered if anyone's ever made bows from it.?? It is a beautiful wood too!  Tom

Offline DustinDees

• the kingdom of bahrain, deployed
Re: Any S/W boyers ever use Huisache?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2009, 03:55:07 pm »
i have not heard of any bows made from this, im only a novice but i read a lot, sounds like a good candidate if a miniature worked well. best of luck, keep us posted on your progress.

Dustin D
“Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.” – Epicurus
Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. That's Relativit

coyote pup

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2009, 04:24:07 pm »
I've not used it, but I would if I ever come across any. I was discribing Osage to a Mexican one time, and he said Oh yeah we have that down in Mexico too. Turns out he thought I was describing Huisache because I used words like hard, strong, flexible, fence-post material, good hot burning fire wood. I think it has thorns too? Can't remember if he said it did or not.

Tombow

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2009, 04:34:24 pm »
Oh yes Coyote Pup! Thorns upon thorns! Also Very hard and heavy, probably as heavy as anything that grows here in el sur de Tejas. I will post in a few months and let you know how it goes, I'll have to see how long it takes to dry.