Author Topic: Honey Mead  (Read 10194 times)

Offline ValhallaBound

Honey Mead
« on: March 12, 2009, 05:39:54 pm »
I am new to primitive archer and am wondering if anyone has any information about the mead making process and/or any recipes they would be willing to share.

Offline DanaM

Re: Honey Mead
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 07:24:56 pm »
Here's a thread on it, only one I remember seeing. Welcome to PA :)

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,3730.0.html
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2009, 09:33:14 pm »
I've brewed enough mead over the years to drown a pig in it.  Wait a minute...I resemble that remark.  *burp*

There are many websites on the 'net that can help you out.  Just remember to sterilize everything over and over.  Fortunately there are no deadly bacteria that can grow in an environment where yeast is brewing, or so I have been advised by a professional vintner.  On the downside, there are billions of the little blighters out there that like to make mead, wine, beer, cyser, pyment, metheglin, etc taste like gut-shot skunk pus.

Start small with one gallon batches to find out what you like, no sense brewing a 17 gallon demijon of something you can't stand. 

At this time I have a 5 gallon batch of raspberry mead finishing initial fermentation.  It will eventually be bottled with a touch more honey to make a sparkling wine (a.k.a. fizzy hiccup juice).
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline Karly

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2009, 08:03:16 am »
Her how i do it ..

the first day i mix the yeast and four spoons of white flour and a pinch of salt with 1 L Applejuice in a mug. i cover it with a dish towel and wait a week.