Author Topic: Best designs for black locust?  (Read 2645 times)

old foul dude

Best designs for black locust?
« on: March 12, 2009, 04:14:38 am »
I have 2 black locust staves to work this spring. One will be a Cherokee D bow. I worked the other stave into a blank 72" long X 2 1/2" wide X 1" thick. I've been searching the posts, but most seem to be about osage. Wondered if any of you could give me some ideas on a design other than the D that would work well with locust. How short can I go? Would it make a plains style? I'd like it to be at least 45# when finished. I'm just starting out, so nothing too complex. Thanks ???

Offline Ryano

• Ryan O'Sullivan, North Western Pennsylvania
Re: Best designs for black locust?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 11:10:12 am »
Black locust is good bow wood. There's any number of designs that will work well. There's so many varibles its hard to pick just one design. You should let the peice of wood sort of dictate the design to a degree. What do you mean by plains style?  How long or short you can go is desided by how far your going to draw the bow and whether you want a ridged or bendy handle.
Its November, I'm gone hunt'in.......
Osage is still better.....

old foul dude

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2009, 12:52:00 am »
The wood I want to use has a large knot in the center at 42". I don't think I'm skilled enough yet for a peep hole bow. I was thinking of a bow 41" long. I have a 28" draw, but I know I'd have to use a short draw on a bow that short. I saw a picture of a Lakota bow that looked good but it was osage. I would let it bend through the handle. Something simple to carve would be best. I'm learning as I build and break them. Thanks for any ideas

Offline Hrothgar

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2009, 08:22:27 am »