Author Topic: arrow shelf  (Read 9972 times)

Offline joesharp79

arrow shelf
« on: January 29, 2009, 08:18:04 pm »
thank you all for the great advise on the post twisted limb it was a combination of the 2 tips weren't exactly right and the limb was a little thicker on the other side got that fixed thanks to u guys here

ok now i was wondering cause i cant find anywere  that tells me were to cut my arrow shelf do i cut 1" above center for best preformace or is there 1 place better than the other all opinions are greatly appreciated

THANK YOA ALL JOE

Offline Traxx

Re: arrow shelf
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 08:33:13 pm »
Dont cut one.Then you dont hafta worry bout that.Often,a person finds the correct spot for the pass,by shooting in the bow.If you cut a shelf in before hand,it may not be right for you n the bow.

We dont need no stinking shelves. :D

Offline servicebeary

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 09:09:11 pm »
I agree with Traxx.
I'm no expert, in fact just finished my first bow recently, but I'm just putting a raised spot, or extra wrap in the hemp string wrap in my handle to give me a reference so my hand will be in the same spot every shot, and thereby my hand will work as a consistent shelf without the added technology and hassle of a shelf.  Just a trim with a razor blaze and dot of glue on the feathers (where the feather meets your hand) and you don't even notice the arrow passing across your hand. You can order arrows from raptor archery that are already for shooting without a shelf. 
           -nick 
I take life 1 month in the Montana wilds at a time...

Offline artcher1

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2009, 09:13:45 pm »
It all depends on how you grip your bows Joe. One inch above center would require a fairly straight wrist. An 1 1/2" will require a medium grip, two inches a low wrist or full hand grip. No need to look for a sweet spot,  just build in. -ART B

Offline sailordad

« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2009, 12:06:17 am »