Author Topic: Hurray for Hawthorne  (Read 7397 times)

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Hurray for Hawthorne
« on: January 03, 2009, 01:27:22 am »
I made a bow from hawthorne several years ago which only was so-so.  The limb I used then was pretty slender.
I cut the limb for this bow from fairly luxuriant brush along our popular Clark Fork (from Lewis & Clark fame) last winter. There
is a lot more there, too.
This bow is kind of a Holmgaard style. If I had the design more in mind when I started, it would have been more typical of a
Holmgaard.
One limb (you can see this in the bandsaw picture) was very reflexed. I heat-gunned a little reflex into the opposite limb and realigned the tips, somewhat.
Anyway, it is 62" ntn with 1.5" limbs just above the handle and tapering to 1 3/8" as it enters 9" x 3/8" tips.
The handle is bendy based on recommendations from this site:
http://www.fiarc.org/public/Forum/Data/jeval/2005102714414_Tillering%20the%20Holmegaard%20Bow-2.pdf
The handle has a wrap of soft 1/8" suade and 1/8" glossy leather trim. This same glossy trim highlights the transition from limb to
tip.
The bow is stained with an old mixture of reddish? Minwax stains with Minwax Ebony for the tips. Several coats of Minwax satin
polyurethane seals it up.
The bow pulls 47# at 26"
There is no set after all the stress I have applied to the bow and after shooting it  dozens of times. No hand shock either.
Got to say...I'm pretty impressed with hawthorne.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: January 03, 2009, 01:32:48 am by OldBow »
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline koan

• Brian D. Mo.
Re: Hurray for Hawthorne
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2009, 01:32:34 am »
Thats an Impressive bow Don...Brian
When you complement a lady on her dress.....make sure she is the one wearing it.....

AKAPK

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2009, 02:04:26 am »
Lookin good buddy :)

Offline Little John

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2009, 04:14:42 am »