Author Topic: One piece, no knot rawhide handles  (Read 12957 times)

Offline David Long

• Only dead fish swim with the stream.
One piece, no knot rawhide handles
« on: December 16, 2008, 01:53:41 pm »
Morning folks. I've been making one-piece rawhide handle wraps for my bows for a few years now and I thought I'd share with you my methods and why I like these. They are very simple to make and IMHO extremely functional and attractive. Measure up the circumference of your bow at the handle, decide how long you want the wrap to be, then cut that rectangle out of rawhide presoaked in water so it's nice and flexible and stretched out. Leave a section of rawhide attached at one corner of the rectangle, and out of this cut a 12'' long lace maybe 1/8" wide or so. Cut the rectangle neatly, but for the lace don't worry about how perfect it is as defects don't show once the sewing is completed. When you are finished cutting you should have a rectangle with a tail hanging off one corner. Now punch holes along the two edges you'll sew and lace it on with your preferred type of stitching. Since the lace is attached to the handle piece there is no need for knots or other methods of getting started. At the opposite end of the stitching leave a 3/4" tail, and tuck this up under the handle on the off side of the bow so it's sure not to get in the way of a rest or the knuckle. Let the rawhide dry (a day or two depending) and it will shrink tight onto the bow, holding the tag end of the lacing fast in place. When it is completely dry wax it up with furniture stuff or even parafin. You now have a handle that FEELS good (at least to me), absorbs perspiration, stays on forever, and resists all but the most horrifically wet conditions. I make them out of the previous seasons animals and it feels good to do that and I don't have to spend a huge amount of time processing the hides. When you dye the rawhide (RIT works great, that's what I used on the dark ones in the photo) you come away wit