Author Topic: Getting started  (Read 6667 times)

mikeg

Getting started
« on: December 04, 2008, 10:33:57 pm »
Hello everyone, I am very new to this but I have been looking at some of the great bows that some of you have made. I was thinking about getting another longbow but after reading some of the posts and seeing some of the pics on this site I have really gotten the bug to learn how to make my own bow. To some of you who have been doing this for a while, what would you suggest as in reading before trying make something? I was thinking The Bowers Bible, are there any other books or info that I should check out? What should I start with, something very simple but what would that be? What wood and where do I get it? A sapling or purchase a stave?

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
Re: Getting started
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2008, 10:56:55 pm »
If you get Traditional Bowyers Bible and read it front to back you will be well on your way to becoming a pro.  Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline knightd

• www.primalneedarchery.com
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2008, 11:11:22 pm »
Traditional Bowyers Bible is a must read!! I got a stave and worked on it as I was reading the book.

Offline Rick in AK

« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2008, 11:20:40 pm »
The TBB series is a great resource to have.  Another great book/pamphlet is the Bent Stick by Paul Comstock.   Other sites that are good are  George's and the Ferrets  listed below.    They have great to-do type instructions and I think they both have plans and instructions for laying out your first bow from a lumber stave which I would recommend you try first.  If you break it you are only out 5-10 bucks and you can get it in your town today and probably finish a bow within a week with some basic tools. 

http://groups.msn.com/FerretsArcheryWebPage/welcome.msnw

http://georgeandjoni.home.comcast.net/~georgeandjoni/