Author Topic: New to the art of bowyers  (Read 5008 times)

TESSERACT85

New to the art of bowyers
« on: October 01, 2008, 11:45:06 am »
Hello all,
I am new to the art of Bowyers and would ike to get started. I do not know what I need to create beautiful bows.
What is the tooling required to create these masterpieces?
What is some recommended literature?
What are some good starter bows to make and use?
What are some recommended woods to use?
Basically, where should a beginner start?

My background is in metal working and I have all of the tools you can imagine for creating anything metal related. I recently found a love for wood. Its so smooth, warm, soft and forgiving. I want to become as good with wood as I am with metal.

I thank anyone in advance for their information. Have a great day!

JR
« Last Edit: December 03, 2009, 03:52:33 pm by TESSERACT85 »

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
Re: New to the art of bowyers
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2008, 12:33:27 pm »
Welcome aboard, JR. I would get started by reading through this site, especially the threads on the bows forum as there is scads of good info on here. I would recommend getting a good book or two, also. A couple that I thinkl are great introductions are The Traditional Bowyer's Bible vol. 1 and Bows and Arrows of the Native Americans by Jim Hamm. You can get both of them from the Horsefeathers Ranch link at the top of this page. Reading through these and the threads on here will give you a good base of information to start from (from cutting/seasoning wood to building different styles of bows), and feel free to ask questions on here. And if you don't have a subscription to Primitive Archer magazine, it's well worth getting, too-always full of good info and tips. Some good woods in your area are hickory, black locust, elm, red mulberry, and white ash, among many others. You may have some osage if you look around.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com