Author Topic: reflex/deflex  (Read 3047 times)

sammydeere

reflex/deflex
« on: July 10, 2008, 08:31:55 am »
As some of you can tell I'm very new to this message board and am quite interested in this traditional stuff.  I just purchased and read my first issue of primitive archer magazine from cover to cover.  I also (within the last month) purchased and read the Traditional Bowyers Bible vol. 1.  I have learned an amazing amount about geometry, string angles, lengths, tillering etc.  but I still could not find what the heck deflex/reflex means.  I think I undnerstand recurving but I still don't know, nor did I see it explained what a reflexed limb or a deflexed limb is.  Any help anyone would have on this subject would be greatly appreciated.  I have already cut/debarked/ and split into staves, a fine ash tree about 8" in diameter that is now drying nicely in my shop.  Any pointers for my first unbacked selfbow would be greatly appreciated.  Love this site.

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: reflex/deflex
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 08:52:09 am »
Reflex is the limb bending away from the belly,or if you are holding the bow away from the holder.
Deflex is just the opposite it will bend toward the belly or shooter.Reflex is usually better as far as performance goes.  :) Hope this helps. Gald to have you on board. :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2008, 09:52:54 am »
What Pappy said.  Reflex/Deflex is a combination of the two.  Usually a R/D bow will bend toward the shooter at the handle or just outside for maybe the first half of the limb then will reflex away from the shooter. Here is a link to a R/D bow RyanO made. Notice the second picture down the profile of the middle picture. http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,7115.0.html
 Justin