Author Topic: Bow Length Formulas  (Read 6512 times)

Offline THoward

Bow Length Formulas
« on: June 04, 2008, 05:49:46 pm »
Please share your thoughts on a formula for bow length.  I would like to hear if you have any general formulas that take some of the guess work out of the mix.  Please include the wood you worked with when your formula worked well.  I have worked Osage, vine maple and will be working hazelnut and black locust soon. ???
"i came to live out loud" emile zola

Offline snag

Re: Bow Length Formulas
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2008, 06:34:53 pm »
I am a newbie at this first off. Hope others that are experienced chime in here...but I have read that you can double
your draw length and then add 2".  For instance your draw length is 28"X2=56"+2=58". 
Is. 49:2 ....He made me a polished arrow and concealed me in His quiver.

Offline bigcountry

« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2008, 07:02:30 pm »
I have always thought it was 2XDL+10% so mine would be 2X29.5"+5.9"=~65"  and from that some woods like BlackLocust a tad more and soem like hickory a tad less
Westminster, MD

Offline stiknstring

« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2008, 07:09:20 pm »
I always heard that twice your drawlength for a bendy handle bow and twice your draw length plus the length of handle and fades for the nonbending handle bow as a general guideline
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 11:31:14 am by stiknstring »

Offline Bent Rig

« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2008, 08:06:27 pm »
For a stiff handled bow - I use for a minium your draw length x 2 + 4" for handle + 4" for both fades . ;)
Syracuse , NY------------"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy"
                                                                                     - Benjamin Franklin

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2008, 08:10:14 am »
What bent rig said is about what I do.Al tho I usually make them a little longer.That is