Author Topic: Digital subscriptions, a different perspective  (Read 1681 times)

Offline Eric Krewson

Digital subscriptions, a different perspective
« on: November 01, 2022, 10:24:23 am »
First off, I haven't subscribed to PA for 20 years, the magazine doesn't interest me that much. One thing that does interest me is this message board, such a vast amount of knowledge available at our finger tips. If Pa folds so does this message board.

As many of you know I am a flintlock builder as well, there are two major gun building sites that cater to sidelock rifles and shotguns, one is the Muzzloader Forum with 21K members, the other, the American Longrifle site with almost 5K members. Both of these amazing forums are owned by individuals and rely on member contributions to stay afloat. Both of these forums have members that vary from rank beginners to the guys who make guns that sell for as much as 50k, the greats are always willing to share their building techniques with us guys eager to learn.

The knowledge I have gained from these boards has allowed me to go from my embarrassingly bad first gun build to a middle of the road competent builder.

To show my appreciation for what I learned from the boards I set up an automatic payment plan to the M/L Forum of $12 a year, not all that much but with lots of others following suit it adds up to enough to keep the forum up and running. Every few years I send $100 to the AL site to help keep them afloat.

It looks like we are at a crossroads on whether PA continues on or fails, all things aside as far as the digital mag change from print to digital goes, how much is this forum worth to you, is it worth $2 a month for a magazine subscription? I spend an estimated 15 hours a month or more here, $2 a month is pretty cheap entertainment.

I just subscribed, not for the magazine, but to keep this forum alive.

Update; I tried to subscribe and got this;