Author Topic: Glue choices for amateurs  (Read 1040 times)

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
Glue choices for amateurs
« on: November 13, 2021, 01:20:56 pm »
Currently I am an amateur, hobby, bowyer.  I make a couple of bows in a year, I aspire to build one decent hornbow or maybe 2 or 3, but generally I am happy just pottering about.  Why is this important for this thread? Cost per bow.  A pro can afford to buy very expensive adhesives as they produce enough that the cost per bow is viable,but if I need to buy a £100 or £200 tub of glue, my cost per bow is huge. So, for a hobby bow builder, what are the most cost effective glues in place of croaker and advanced synthetics?
« Last Edit: November 13, 2021, 01:36:55 pm by stuckinthemud »

Offline Bowmonk

Re: Glue choices for amateurs
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2021, 03:03:24 pm »
Urea formaldahyde glues are my choice for natural material bows. Not only is it more cost effective than epoxies, I think they are a better product. Some examples would be cascamite, recorcinol, and Unibond 800 (formerly Urac 185). The Urac was my go to glue, and now I use the Unibond 800 and I have always considered them superior to epoxies for natural materials. Less creep and shear problems that you can experience with epoxies or PVA (Titebond) glues. I believe you can get in Europe "Polyvine Cascamite" if you are not able to get the Unibond 800 shipped to you.
~Russell

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2021, 03:54:15 pm »
Really impressed by Semforite at the moment

Offline mmattockx

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2021, 04:08:41 pm »
The question should be asked - What are you gluing? Handles, tip overlays, laminations, something else?