Author Topic: Broke my first 3, then my 4th broke and so did my 5th..  (Read 2604 times)

Offline boomhowzer

Broke my first 3, then my 4th broke and so did my 5th..
« on: May 31, 2021, 09:49:28 pm »
Hello friends! This here is my first post on the esteemed "Bows" section of the Primitive Archer forum. There are some absolutely amazing bows and bowyers on this site, and this seems to be the most expert place on the internet to seek advice and share stories about bow making and I'm excited to be part of your community :)

I'm new to the craft, and someday I hope to post pictures of my masterpieces like airkah and SebastianArc have recently, but for now I wallow in the debris of broken limbs and hearts. Here is an account of my tribulations thus far:

Bow #1: Umbrella pole of unknown wood, 66" N2N, 1 1/4" wide to 5/8" tips.
   Accidentally cut the arrow shelf into the back of the bow before tillering began.

Bow #2: Cedar with hickory backing, 65" N2N, 1 1/4" wide to 3/4" tips.
   Followed instructions outlined by Saxton Pope in 'Hunting with the Bow and Arrow'.  Bow chrysaled immediately upon bracing.

Bow #3: Cedar with thicker hickory backing 68" N2N, 1 3/8" wide to 5/8" tips.
   This time followed instructions described by Howard Hill in 'Hunting the Hard Way'. Exploded on the tillering tree, nearly killing my cat.

Bow #4: Osage orange, god bless it, 59" N2N, 1 1/4" wide to 3/4" tips.
   Someone finally gave me Gary Davis' movie and explained the concept of chasing a single growth ring on the back of a bow. It was going to be 68" long, just like Gary says. I carved the back out real nice, then I took it to my uncle's shop and it was a 59" bow before I could utter the first syllable of the word 'bandsaw' (which is now a curse word for me). Tillered it with tears in my eyes into a whip-ended half-moon with 2" of set (see photos), but it still pulled #53 at 26".