Author Topic: Bow design idea with sinew  (Read 1132 times)

Offline Nasr

Bow design idea with sinew
« on: January 03, 2021, 07:47:33 pm »
I have very little experience with sinew backed bows and had this idea for a long time for a bow with sinew Ash core and ipe belly. Was thinking 55” maybe shorter 50@28” I have no idea if this would work. I have backed bows before but to be honest nothing much came from them and it was early on in my bow making journey. I have two questions

1 how much sinew would I need
2 would this even work?

Offline Yooper Bowyer

• formerly Tradcraftsman
Re: Bow design idea with sinew
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2021, 07:59:46 pm »
What is your thinking behind this design?  I.e. why build a bow this way instead of another way?

Would this be a recurve or a straight bow? 

Offline Nasr

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2021, 08:12:40 pm »
I was thinking a pyramid style front profile and sharp static recurves. I was thinking it would start 1 3/8 and taper to 1/2 inch to start. Maybe reverse brace it while sinew dries but not introduce much reflex that way. I want most of the reflex to come from the static recurves.

Offline Nasr

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2021, 08:14:49 pm »
Is the statics are too much I can go with working recurves since it sinew it should hold the recurves.

Offline Yooper Bowyer

• formerly Tradcraftsman
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2021, 08:23:28 pm »
What do you expect this design to do/be that a simpler design couldn't accomplish?  If I were you I would build the bow longer unless I had a specific reason for making it short.  Longer bows are generally faster, smoother, more durable, and more accurate.

Offline Nasr

« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2021, 08:29:25 pm »